The MyUniversity website is the Australian Government’s online higher education information service that provides students with access to clear, meaningful and transparent information about Australia’s higher education providers. This interactive, searchable website displays course information and fees, student demographics, student satisfaction and graduate destination survey results, student services and campus facilities, and research student numbers and scholarships.

Australian higher education

The Australian Government is primarily responsible for public funding of higher education. The Department of Education is responsible for administering this funding and for developing and administering higher education policy and programs. At the end of January 2012, the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency took over the responsibility for regulation previously held by the state and territory governments.

The Australian higher education sector

The higher education sector in Australia is comprised of universities and other higher education providers. A ‘higher education provider’ is a university, a non-university self-accrediting provider or a non-self-accrediting provider. All of these higher education providers are subject to quality and accountability requirements.

The Australian Government Minister for Education must approve a higher education provider before it can receive grants and before students can receive assistance from the Australian Government under the Higher Education Support Act 2003.

Under the Higher Education Support Act 2003, the Australian higher education system is comprised of the following higher education providers. Note that Table C providers are not listed under the University Search and Postgraduate Research sections of the website. However, they are listed under the Course Search with the other higher education providers listed below.

Table A

Australian Catholic University James Cook University The University of Adelaide University of South Australia
Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education La Trobe University The University of Melbourne University of Southern Queensland
Central Queensland University Macquarie University The University of Queensland University of Tasmania
Charles Darwin University Monash University The University of Sydney University of Technology, Sydney
Charles Sturt University Murdoch University The University of Western Australia University of the Sunshine Coast
Curtin University of Technology Queensland University of Technology University of Ballarat University of Western Sydney
Deakin University RMIT University University of Canberra University of Wollongong
Edith Cowan University Southern Cross University University of Newcastle Victoria University
Flinders University Swinburne University of Technology University of New England
Griffith University The Australian National University University of New South Wales

Table B

Bond University
MCD University of Divinity
The University of Notre Dame Australia

Table C

Carnegie Mellon University, a non-profit organisation established under Pennsylvania law.
University College London (UCL), a non-profit organisation established under United Kingdom law.

Approved higher education providers

Click on the link to obtain the complete list of approved higher education providers.

Return to top

Australian Qualifications Framework

The Australian Qualifications Framework is a quality-assured national framework of qualifications in the school, vocational education and training and higher education sectors in Australia. It promotes lifelong learning and a seamless and diverse education and training system.

The Australian Qualifications Framework consists of:

  • The learning outcomes for each AQF level and qualification type;
  • The specifications for the application of the AQF in the accreditation and development of qualifications;
  • The policy requirements for issuing AQF qualifications;
  • The policy requirements for qualification linkages and student pathways;
  • The policy requirements for the registers of:
    • organisations authorised to accredit AQF qualifications;
    • organisations authorised to issue AQF qualifications;
    • AQF qualifications and qualification pathways;
  • The policy requirements for the addition or removal of qualification types in the AQF and;
  • The definitions of the terminology used in the policy.

The Australian Qualifications Framework aims to:

  • provide nationally consistent recognition of students’ achievements in post-compulsory education;
  • provide the basis for recognition of prior learning, including credit transfer and work and life experience, to help people to move more easily between education and training sectors and between those sectors and the labour market;
  • integrate and streamline the requirements of participating providers, employers and employees, individuals and interested organisations;
  • offer flexibility to suit the diversity of purposes of education and training;
  • improve access to qualifications, clearly define avenues for achievement and generally contribute to lifelong learning so that people are encouraged to take part in education and training; and
  • support and enhance the national and international mobility of graduates and workers through increased recognition of the value and comparability of Australian qualifications.

The Australian Qualifications Framework Second Edition

In 2009-2010, the Australian Qualifications Framework underwent a major strengthening exercise. The revised framework, known as the Australian Qualifications Framework First Edition, was approved by the Ministerial Councils with responsibility for education, with implementation beginning in July 2011. Following feedback from key stakeholders, including the higher education sector, further revisions were made resulting in the release of the Australian Qualifications Framework Second Edition in January 2013. All requirements of the Australian Qualifications Framework need to be met by January 2015.

The Australian Qualifications Framework places existing qualifications within a 10-level structure: Certificate I qualifications are placed at Level 1 and the Doctoral Degree is at Level 10. There are level descriptors and qualification descriptors which focus on learning outcomes - that is, the knowledge, skills, and application of knowledge and skills a graduate with a qualification can be expected to have achieved.

Although the Australian Qualifications Framework has a hierarchical structure, it promotes pathways in both directions. For example, a bachelor degree graduate may choose to complete an Australian Qualifications Framework diploma or Certificate III or IV to gain workplace skills. For more information, visit the Australian Qualifications Framework.

Further information

For more information, visit the Higher Education section of the Department of Industry's website.

Return to top